FacebookInstagramTwitterContact

 

Two arrested over fires allegedly set to clear land           >>           Man accused of waitress’ murder at Toa Payoh carpark goes on trial            >>           Family appeals for help to find youth with learning disability           >>           Chelsea was wrong time for Barca 'experiment' with Dembele - Valverde           >>           Bigelow Aerospace Launches New Company To Operate Private Space Stations           >>           Cesc Fabregas: Chelsea must attack Barca or face 'suicide mission'           >>           Facebook Makes It Easier To Share Detailed 3D Objects           >>           Antonio Conte backs Andreas Christsensen after Chelsea's 'one mistake'           >>           Intruders 'Borrowed' Tesla's Public Cloud For Cryptocurrency Mining (Updated)           >>           Installation Begins On Bezos-Backed 10,000 Year Clock           >>          

 

SHARE THIS ARTICLE




REACH US


GENERAL INQUIRY

[email protected]

 

ADVERTISING

[email protected]

 

PRESS RELEASE

[email protected]

 

HOTLINE

+673 222-0178 [Office Hour]

+673 223-6740 [Fax]

 



Upcoming Events


Brunei Gastronomy Week
February 23rd, 2018 | 08:00 AM


Negara Brunei Darussalam 34th National Day
February 23rd, 2018 | 10:00 AM





Prayer Times


The prayer times for Brunei-Muara and Temburong districts. For Tutong add 1 minute and for Belait add 3 minutes.


Imsak

: 05:06AM

Subuh

: 05:16AM

Syuruk

: 06:34AM

Doha

: 06:57AM

Zohor

: 12:35PM

Asar

: 03:53PM

Maghrib

: 06:34PM

Isyak

: 07:44PM

 



The Business Directory


 

 



Space & Science


  Home > Space & Science


You Can Watch A Rocket Launch And Spaceship Arrival Early Tuesday!


An artist's illustration of the Joint Polar Satellite System 1 satellite in Earth orbit. A United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket will launch the satellite for NASA and NOAA on Nov. 14, 2017 from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Credit: Ball Aerospace

 


 November 14th, 2017  |  09:30 AM  |   2277 views

SPACE.COM

 

If you're a space fan and early-riser, then NASA has the Tuesday for you. In a cosmic twofer, an advanced new weather satellite is launching into space tomorrow (Nov. 14) as a robotic cargo ship arrives at the International Space Station and you can watch it all live online.

 

The space action begins at 3:15 a.m. EST (0815 GMT), when NASA's webcast begins to chronicle the arrival of Orbital ATK-built Cygnus cargo ship S.S. Gene Cernan at the ISS to deliver more than 3 tons of supplies. The Cygnus launched toward the space station Sunday (Nov. 12) from NASA's Wallops Flight Facility on Wallops Island, Virginia. Astronauts on the space station will capture the Cygnus with a robotic arm at 4:50 a.m. EST (0940 GMT).

 

Just minutes before the Cygnus' station arrival, at 4:47 a.m. EST (0947 GMT), NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) will launch the first in a new family of advanced weather forecasting satellites — called the Joint Polar Satellite System 1 (JPSS-1) — from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. JPSS-1 will map the entire Earth twice a day to help scientists create the more accurate weather forecasts. It will launch atop a Delta II rocket built by the United Launch Alliance.

 

You can watch the space launch and arrival live here, courtesy of NASA TV, which will air both events in separate webcasts the agency's livestream channels. But you'll have to plan your pre-dawn viewing carefully.

 

NASA's webcast of the Cygnus arrival will begin at 3 a.m. EST (0800 GMT) on the NASA TV Public Channel and pause after the spacecraft is successfully grappled with the space station's robotic arm. It will resume at 6 a.m. EST (1100 GMT) to show views of Cygnus being attached to the station.

 

Meanwhile, the JPSS-1 satellite launch webcast will begin at 4:15 a.m. EST (0915 GMT) and be carried live on the NASA TV Media Channel and run continuously through the satellite's launch. The United Launch Alliance will also post Delta II rocket updates on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook throughout the mission using the hashtags #DeltaII and #JPSS1.

 

Whew! That's a lot of space comings and goings to get through before sunrise!

 


 

Source:
courtesy of SPACE

by Tariq Malik

 

If you have any stories or news that you would like to share with the global online community, please feel free to share it with us by contacting us directly at [email protected]

 

Related News


Teacher Killed, Five Students Injured In Lok Kawi Accident

 2018-02-21 08:39:55

Liu Wen: China Supermodel's New Year Message Sparks Row

 2018-02-21 08:51:50

Short-End Treasuries Fall, Asia Stocks Trade Flat: Markets Wrap

 2018-02-21 09:35:48